What are the penalties for DUI in Georgia?

Georgia imposes criminal charges for drivers who have a measured blood alcohol content of 0.08% or higher or who display obvious drug or alcohol impairment behind the wheel. Drivers who do not consent to a breath or blood test will be subject to additional criminal penalties. 

If you are facing a charge of driving under the influence in Georgia, review the possible consequences of a conviction: 

DUI with no prior convictions 

First-time DUI offenders, defined by the state as those with no DUI convictions in the past five years, may receive the following legal penalties in Georgia: 

  • One-year license suspension with $210 reinstatement fee 
  • At least $300 and up to $1,000 in fines 
  • Up to a year in jail 
  • A minimum of 40 mandatory hours of community service 

Second-time DUI  

If you receive another DUI within five years of the first, penalties can include: 

  • A three-year license suspension with $210 reinstatement fee 
  • At least $600 and up to $1,000 in fines 
  • At least 48 hours and up to 12 months in jail 
  • A minimum of 30 mandatory community service days 
  • Mandatory substance abuse evaluation and treatment at your cost if the screening indicates substance use disorder 

Third-time DUI 

A third DUI in the same five-year period will result in: 

  • A five-year license suspension with $210 reinstatement fee 
  • At least $1,000 and up to $5,000 in fines 
  • At least 15 days and up to 12 months in jail 
  • A minimum of 30 mandatory community service days 
  • Mandatory substance abuse evaluation and treatment at your cost if the screening indicates substance use disorder 
  • Seizure of your vehicle’s license plate 
  • Local newspaper ad naming and picturing the individual as a habitual DUI offender 

In addition to these minimum penalties, the circumstances of your case may result in additional charges. For example, an open container in a vehicle carries a fine of $200 on top of other fees.